+86-532-67722787 info@simenmetal.com
Language: Russian The Arabic language German Spanish French Portuguese

Are there different grades of wrought iron?

Views: 59 Update date: May 21,2024
Wrought iron, historically used for its durability and malleability, generally does not have standardized grading systems like modern steels do. Instead, it is usually categorized based on its quality, manufacturing process, and intended use. However, some distinctions can be made in terms of the grades or types of wrought iron:

Charcoal Iron: This is the traditional form of wrought iron, produced using charcoal as the fuel. It is known for its high quality and excellent properties for forging and ornamental work.

Puddled Iron: This is a more common type of wrought iron produced in the 19th century using the puddling process. Puddled iron is characterized by its fibrous structure, which includes slag inclusions that give it strength and resistance to corrosion.

Merchant Bar Iron: This grade of wrought iron is produced for general commercial use, suitable for a variety of applications, including construction and manufacturing of basic iron goods.

Best Best (BB) Iron: Known for its superior quality, this type of wrought iron is refined through additional processes to remove more impurities, making it ideal for high-quality tools and hardware.

Best Iron: This grade is a step below BB iron in terms of quality but is still refined and used for products requiring better-than-average iron quality.

Common Iron: The least refined type, common iron contains more impurities and is suitable for applications where high strength or specific properties are not critical.

Prev News: What is the history of ornamental ironwork?
Next News: What is the raw material of wrought iron?

Get   2%  Discount Off Your First Order!